By William Casis i FilAm Star Correspondent

As the election campaign nears  the homestretch, an Otso Diretso candidate is yet to get into the “Magic 12” based on the latest survey  conducted by the Magdalo group.

Even Magdalo partylist Rep. Gary Alejano failed to clinch a spot in the “Winning Circle” as gleaned from the survey which they commissioned.

Alejano is at number 20, followed by former Assemblywoman Samira Gutoc at number 21.

Election lawyer Romy Macalintal advances to number 24, from being number 27 in the last survey.

Former Quezon Rep. Erin Tañada is at number 25, human rights lawyer Chel Diokno is at 28; and former Supreme Court Associate Pilo Hilbay is now at number 31 (up from 35).

Despite  the tight race, Magdalo Chairman, Sen. Antonio Trillanes IV said the ratings of the other Otso Diretso candidates are continuously improving.

The survey showed that Senators Grace Poe and Cynthia Villar have remained the leading senatorial candidates.

Poe garnered 60.4 percent, with Villar at second with 50.8 percent, according to the survey conducted last April 2 to 4.

Bong Go is now at number three with 47.8 percent, followed by Lito Lapid at number four with 42.3 percent, and Pia Cayetano at number five with 40.4 percent.

Other candidates who made it to the top 16 are the following:
6. Bong Revilla, 39.1%
7. Bato Dela Rosa, 36.9%
8. Bam Aquino, 34.5%
9. Nancy Binay, 33.7%
10. Imee Marcos, 32.7%
11. Jinggoy Estrada, 30.9%
12. Sonny Angara, 30.7%
13. Mar Roxas, 29.3%
14. Francis Tolentino, 29.0%
15. Koko Pimentel, 25.6%
16. JV Ejercito, 23.4%

The Magdalo in-house survey employed a multi-stage probability sampling design with face-to-face interviews of 3,000 respondents, equitably representing the voting population across the different regions of the country and has a margin of error of 1.8 percent.

The respondents were given a list of all the senatorial candidates and were asked the question: “Kung ngayon gagawin ang eleksyon sa pagka-senador, sino sa mga sumusunod na kandidato ang inyong iboboto? Pumili hanggang 12 na kandidato.”