By William Casis i FilAm Star Correspondent

Re-elected Cynthia Villar, the frontrunner in last May’s mid-term elections and world boxing champion Manny Pacquiao, were the only senators who entered the Billionaires’ Row in the Upper House of Congress.

With a declared PHP 3,719,941,858.00 net worth as of December 31, 2018 on her statement of assets, liabilities and net worth (SALN) posted on the Senate website, Villar remains the wealthiest senator.

Without any liabilities, her net worth is over PHP 100 million higher than last year’s PHP 3,611,260,766.

Villar’s husband and former Senate President Manny Villar, is also one of the wealthiest in the Philippines with an estimated net worth of $5.5 billion according to Forbes Magazine’s 2019 list of the wealthiest people on the planet. He ranked 317th globally.

Pacquiao, who remains a boxing contender, listed a net worth of PHP 3,005,808,000.00 with PHP 146 million liabilities. His net worth increased by PHP 59 million. In 2017, his declared net worth was PHP 2,946,315,029.93.

Photo: Senator Manny Pacquiao (Senate of the Philippines Official Facebook Page)

Villar had no declared liabilities in 2018 while Pacquiao had PHP 146,005,728.

On the other hand, outgoing Sen. Antonio Trillanes IV reported the lowest net worth of PHP 7,533,012.10 followed by detained Sen. Leila de Lima with a net worth of PHP 7,706,392.45.

The opposition senator was also the poorest last year with only PHP 7,533,012.10 in declared net worth last year.

Senate President Pro-Tempore Ralph Recto was the third richest senator with a reported net worth of PHP 555,324,479.82 followed by Majority Leader Juan Miguel Zubiri with a net worth of PHP 182,851,570.34 and Sen. Juan Edgardo Angara with PHP 135,840,710.00.

Sen. JV Ejercito was the sixth richest senator with a net worth of PHP 132,820,345.73 or an increase of PHP 53.9 million from his 2017 net worth.

Ejercito said, “All of these are documented, (I) was given a deed of donation of an asset worth PHP 50 million three years ago but documentation was only completed and reflected in 2018.” He added that the property was transferred to him and his wife.

Minority Leader Franklin Drilon was the seventh richest with a reported net worth of PHP 97,726,758.00. Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian was the eighth richest with a reported net worth of PHP 96,210,607.14 and Sen. Grace Poe the ninth richest with PHP 93,039,921.54 reported net worth.

Sen. Richard Gordon came in as the tenth richest senator with a net worth of PHP 71,285,178.65 while Senate President Vicente Sotto III was the eleventh with PHP 70,120,700.30.

Sen. Nancy Binay has a net worth of PHP 60,132,461.00 while Sen. Loren Legarda reported a net worth of PHP 56,290,602.11.

Sen. Bam Aquino was the fourteenth richest senator with PHP 45,205,138.25
followed by Sen. Panfilo Lacson with a net worth of PHP 42,442,341.00, Sen. Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III with PHP 28,662,212.00 net worth, Sen. Joel Villanueva with PHP 26,921,555.00.

Sen. Gregorio Honasan II has a net worth of PHP 25,882,099.00, Sen. Francis Pangilinan with PHP 16,695,048.17 net worth, Ana Theresia Hontiveros with PHP 15,627,176.04 net worth and Sen.  Francis Escudero with PHP 10,575,228.00 net worth and Sen. Leila de Lima with PHP 7.7 million net worth.

Aside from Villar, other senators who have no liabilities were Gatchalian, Honasan, and Pimentel.

The following is the complete ranking of the senators based on their declared net worth as of December 31, 2018.

Sen. Cynthia Villar, PHP 3.719B
Sen. Manny Pacquiao, PHP 3.005B
Sen. Ralph Recto, PHP 555M
Sen. Juan Miguel Zubiri, PHP 182M
Sen. Sonny Angara, PHP 135M
Sen. JV Ejercito, PHP 132M
Sen. Franklin Drilon, PHP 97M
Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian, PHP 96M
Sen. Grace Poe, PHP 93M
Sen. Richard Gordon, PHP71M
Sen. Vicente “Tito” Sotto III, PHP 70M
Sen. Nancy Binay, PHP 60M
Sen. Loren Legarda, PHP 56M
Sen. Bam Aquino, PHP 45M
Sen. Panfilo Lacson, PHP 42M
Sen. Koko Pimentel, PHP 28M
Sen. Joel Villanueva, PHP 26M
Sen. Gringo Honasan, PHP 25M
Sen. Kiko Pangilinan, PHP 16M
Sen. Risa Hontiveros, PHP 15M
Sen. Chiz Escudero, PHP 10M
Sen. Leila de Lima, PHP 7.7M
Sen. Antonio Trillanes, PHP 7.5M