Superior Court Judge keynotes Batangas city affair

Judge Benjamin T. Reyes II with the 2018-2019 Officers and Board Members of the Batangas City-Sto. Niño Devotees Association. Kneeling (l. to r.) Cecil Zaraspe, Ardie Perez, Philo Mendoza and Incomineg Vice President Romel Chozas. Standing (l. to r.) Bernie Ayap, Out-going President Rod Reyes, Bayani Baliwag, Melvin Macatangay, Malou Atienza Cuasay, Judge Reyes, Incoming President Delia Godoy Montano, Bobby Reyes, Christian Buquid and Clarito Agustin. Not in the picture is Board Member Danny Maneja.

Recently appointed Superior Court judge Benjamin T. Reyes II of the Superior Court of California, Contra Costa County was the guest of honor of the Batangas City Sto. Nino Devotees Association during its 39th annual Sto. Nino fiesta held January 16, 2018 at the Holy Spirit Parish Center in Fremont, California. Judge Reyes delivered a very inspirational speech regarding his experience as a lawyer and is looking forward to serve the Superior court of the State of California.

The Mardi Gras theme for the fiestas filled to the hilt with association and their families as well as guests. The fiesta was ushereduin in with a thanksgiving mass celebrated by Fr. Ken Sales, Pastor, and Holy Spirit Church which was followed by the traditional Karakul in homage to the Sto. Nino, parish patron and protector of Batangas City.

The program was opened with a welcome speech by President Rod Reyes. To complement the Mardi Gras theme, the fiesta attendees were entertained with a lively Samba dance featuring the Samba Conmigio Dance Troupe attired in colorful Mardi Gras costumes. Other feature of the fiesta was the parlor games participated by old and young adults members of the association. The association also tendered a seven course dinner buffet catered by Tasetebuds of San Bruno and complemented with two lechons and the sought after Kalderettang Batangan prepared by the association master chefs. The program timeline was successfully supervised by Cristina Reyes, Program Chairperson and Emcee for the evening,Turner.

The association officers for 2017-2018 are: Rod Reyes-President, Delia Godoy Montano-Vice President, Ardie Perez-Secretary, Rozel Perez-Treasurer, Clarito Agustin-Auditor, Christian Buquid-Press Relations officers and JJ Minioza, Legal Counsel. The oterh members of the Board of Directors are: Cecil Zaraspe-Immediate Past President, Sylvia Atienza, Bernie Ayap, Bayani Baliwag, Ching Calucag, Malou Atienza Cuasay, Melvin Macatangay, Philo Mendoza and Bobby Reyes.

The program also featured the introduction of the incoming officers for 2018-2019 led by Incoming President Delia Godoy Montanao. After which the oath office for the the newly elected officers was administered by the Guest of Honor Judge Benjamin T., Reyes II.