Lucky Chances Casino scholarship 2017


There were 16 scholarship grant recipients during the Colma town council meeting last May 10 at Colma Community Center.

This is the 17th Colma Citizens awarding ceremony which was started in 2000 by Lucky Chances Casino and is fully funded by the company, as well. Previously directed by Rene Medina and now his son Rommel, Lucky Chances has been very supportive to the Colma community.

Between 2000-2016 Lucky Chances distributed $286,548.88. This year, grade school recipients were awarded $1,000 (same as high school and college student winners) instead of $750. The Scholarship Fund Committee consists of seven members: five Colma citizens-at-large and two Lucky Chances employees.

The scholars for 2017-2018 are: Marco Andres Montalvo – Our Lady of the Visitation School, Gabriel Pacis – Our Lady of Perpetual Help School, James Carter – Hilldale Elementary School, Miguel Roque – Crystal Springs Uplands School, Mary De Costa – College of San Mateo School of Nursing, Micah Dela Cruz – University of California Davis, Alexander Gomez – Santa Clara University, Bianca Gonzalez – Santa Clara University, Walter Gutierrez – San Francisco State University, Luke Lenard Lazaro – Skyline College, Oliver Mangibin – San Francisco State University, Elizabeth Morton – Columbia Southern University, Nigel Parangan – University of Hawaii at Manoa, Jovana Toscano – San Francisco State University and Sarah Yoa – Cal Poly. And Kathleen Garrett, winner of $500 for piano lessons.

Alexander Gomez caught up with ceremony but Micah De La Cruz, Oliver Mangibin and Sarah Yoa were unable to attend.